If you are an adult driver in Massachusetts, and you are charged with drag racing, you now face much more serious penalties then you did prior to February 26, 2008.
Prior to the new law individuals charged with drag racing faced the following penalties:
- 1st offense: $100-$500 dollar fine and a 30 day license suspension.
- 2nd and subsequent offenses: $200-$1000 dollar fine and a 60 day license suspension.
- 1st offense: $250; plus 1 year license suspension; plus $500 to reinstate license; plus completion of the state courts against road rage program.
- 2nd and subsequent offenses:$500; plus 3 years license suspension; plus $1000 to reinstate; plus completion of the state courts against road rage program.
Interestingly, the new law does not address junior operators, but non-junior operators. The new law, that is currently in effect is:
- 1st offense:fine of not more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 2/12 years in a House of Correction, a license suspension of at least 30 days.
- 2nd offense: fine of not more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 2/12 years in a House of Correction, a license suspension of at least 180 days.
If you have been accused wrongfully (or not), a lawyer can help you protect your rights, and fight the case!
If you have been charged with drag racing in Massachusetts, call me at 866-981-7888 or email me to set up a consultation. When you call, ask for Attorney Jessica Foley.
For more information see: