Arrested for Distribution of Drugs?

Drugs are substances that are classified as ‘controlled substances’ by the Massachusetts Generals Laws.  There are actually five classes of drugs that are crimes to possess and distribute.   What are these drugs?

Remember, convictions for possession of drugs result in a loss of your license to drive!

Class A Drugs:

  • Heroin
  • Morphine
  • Codeine
  • Ketamine (Special  K)

Class B Drugs:

  • Cocaine
  • Crack
  • Amphetamines
  • Methadone
  • LSD
  • PCP

Class C Drugs:

  • Peyote
  • Mescaline

Class D Drugs:

  • Marijuana

Class E Drugs:

  • Prescription drugs that are not mixed with narcotics.

For a complete and extensive listing of the different classes of drugs in Massachusetts, you can look at the Massachusetts General Laws Website.

PENALTIES FOR DRUG DISTRIBUTION:

Class A Punishments:

First Offense:

  • Jail not more than 2 1/2 years
  • OR state prison not more than 10 years
  • OR fine of between $1,000 and $10,000
  • OR imprisonment in jail or state prison AND a fine.

Second or Subsequent Offense:

  • State prison not less than 5 years or more than 15 years (i.e. you must serve at least 5 years!)
  • AND fine of not less than $2,500 or more than $25,000

Class B Punishments:

First Offense:

  • Jail not more than 2 1/2 years
  • OR state prison not more than 10 years
  • OR a fine not less than $1,000 and not more than $10,000
  • OR imprisonment in jail or state prison AND a fine.

Second or Subsequent Offense:

  • State prison for not less than 3 years or more than 10 years (i.e. you must serve at least 3 years!)
  • AND a fine of not less than $2,500 or more than $25,000

Class C Punishments:

First Offense:

  • Jail or house of correction for not more than 2 1/2 years
  • OR in state prison for not more than 5 years
  • OR a fine of not less than $500 or more than $5,000
  • OR imprisonment in jail or state prison AND a fine.

Second or Subsequent Offense:

  • State prison for not less than 2 1/2 years but not more than 10 years (i.e. you must serve at least 2 1/2 years!)
  • OR jail not less than 2 years or more than 2 1/2 years (i.e. you must serve at least 2 years!)
  • OR a fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $10,000
  • OR imprisonment in jail or state prison AND a fine.

Class D Punishments:

First Offense:

  • Jail not more than 2 years
  • OR fine of not less than $500 and not more than $5,000
  • OR imprisonment in jail AND a fine.

Second or Subsequent Offense:

  • Jail not less than 1 year or more than 1 1/2 years (i.e. you must serve at least 1 year)
  • OR fine of between $1,000 and $10,000
  • OR imprisonment in jail AND a fine.

If you have been charged with any of the above crimes, you NEED an ATTORNEY.   The Commonwealth has to prove that you knowingly possessed the drug (and that it is in fact the drug in question) and that you distributed it.  Contact The Law Office of Jessica A. Foley for a consultation!  You can also contact her TOLL FREE at 866-981-7888 or via email at Jessica@JessicaFoleyLaw.com.

Contact Jessica

Get Adobe Flash player